Beyond the Miles

Souls like the wings
Spreading out away from bad memories
Make us capable of taking off and landing
Alive with understanding

The steady rhythm of shoes hitting the pavement. My mind is clear from the past. Dwelling when life was a ship going down has made me feel as though I was still sinking. Pull the anchor of bad memories and sail on…. 

One little song
Give me strength to the leave the sad and the wrong
Bury safely in the past where I’ve been living
Alive but unforgiving

The miles weaken my knees and strengthen my mind. A pool eases my muscles. Conversations help me bury it safely in the past where the past should be.

One little girl
Bring me life from where I thought it was dark
Be the spark that has a chance to light the candle
Love that I can handle

During those moments where I dwell in doubt the pavement brings me hope. When the doubt returns I lie awake… My son holds my hand in his sleep and says “I love you Mom… ” Unable to sleep I walk in the dark and find more hope from what our little girl left on the floor…

They bring me life from where I thought it was dark. 

Maggie drawing

Love that I can handle… 

When the song reaches the chorus. I cry nearly every time. Pull the anchor and sail on away from bad memories… 

Let me go, let me go, let me go, let me go 

Change this way of living… anchors up. 

Souls Like the Wheels – Avett Brothers

Leave a Reply

