I am enough. You are Enough. We are Enough.

The sermon this week was from Matthew 6:25-34. I love the Sermon on the Mount. Just love it, but this part talks about Jesus urging us to not fret about having enough in life- enough clothes, food, shelter etc.

Mark Loring, a writer full of soul, came to speak at church on Sunday. He was sharing his poems and reflections and providing the stories that brought some of them about in his book The Soul’s Collection: An Intimate Awakening. My favorite piece out of the entire book was part of the sermon on Sunday.

“It is with grace that I arrived

The universe knew of my coming

I shall rest in the belief that I am enough”

To feel as though you are not enough is a hard thing to cope with and we have stressed and fretted about being enough or having enough in some way or another. I assure you that I will not feel, as a Christian, as though I am ever DONE or enough. There isn’t a time where a Christian should kick off their shoes and prop up their feet in assurance that they are done… you are never done and with God it is never enough. I’m okay with that because we continue to sin… whether it be lying or coveting. Maybe you never committed adultery, murdered someone or denied God, but regardless you are a sinner. The cloth of sin covers all of us and none are free of it.

I have been a victim of being judged in the last few weeks so the writing from Mark Loring struck me and has stuck with me this week. It has been hard because when someone speaks poorly of you it is your knee jerk reaction to respond negatively of them in return. I lost self control and it is best for me to walk away from these situations and cool my jets. I wasn’t the first to throw hateful words, but the sermon on the mount has something for these folks too. Matthew 7:1-5 “

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

It was said behind my back and to my face that I am not enough. I am not enough of a friend or enough of a Christian. Your knee jerk reaction is to exclaim that the person judging you is not enough as a friend or not enough Christian coming from the Christian. One Christian to another we must stop telling each other that we are not enough to God as of yet. This behavior pushes so many away from being a Christian and really we have no good place to say it. I am enough of a Christian to call myself a Christian…. I promise you without persecuting others to earn that. We already know that we are to continue to strive towards being enough in God’s eyes. More importantly, it is important to tell each other that we are enough as a person for each other. We are all under the cloth of sin, none are free from this.

If you have been treating others an not enough, be prepared for being told the same and treated the same and judged as you have judged. Pull the plank out of your eye and view ever more clearly the imperfections of yourself before you treat others as less. Could they not say the same of you as you have of them?

~If I haven’t said it or said it enough~

For my family- You are enough.

For my children- You are enough.

For my husband- You are enough. 

For my friends- You are enough. 

My husband and I are being blessed with a gift this week from generous persons who saw a need of ours. We don’t ask for much you see. We may ask for a ride. We may ask for someone to watch the kids for a bit. We may ask for a loan if we’re buying something like a house, but really we don’t ask for much more than a listening ear or a prayer. We’re more likely to be the person to pay your way, lend out the money or share our belongings to help you. I was telling my friend that we feel so blessed by this generous gift and words don’t really fall into place on it yet. She said, “Take the gift… good things come to good people”. I said, “I wish that were always true.” She said, “Well in this case it is.” She was telling me that I am enough…. not in such poetic words as Mark Loring, but that is what she was saying.

We don’t say it enough …to each other ….that we are enough.

Give it a try.

Say it to someone who needs to hear it.

And mean it.

Leave a Reply

